Creative Messes

Crafty Projects and the Messes that Come with Them

How to Create a Jewellery Stand

Van Etsy Craft Party

I went to the Vancouver Etsy Craft Party on Friday night and it was so much fun! It was my first time at a Craft Event and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was hoping to (and did!) meet up with some of my co-workers Stephanie, Daina, Joanna and Melissa. I got there earlier than they did and was a little bit nervous because I wasn’t sure who I was going to talk to or what to do. I luckily got to sit next to Samantha who I really enjoyed getting to know throughout the Event! Turns out she works on the same block as HootSuite, has her own jewellery line, and is part of a craft council. I also got to meet a lot of people throughout the night because I happened to sit at that one seat for a pretty long time!  It was so fun meeting other crafters and hearing what they like to make! Ah I loved every bit of it!!

We got to choose one of three different craft projects to do. I chose the postcard project where you get a piece of wood and you get to create a postcard from it. I (as well as many of the others at my table) didn’t really end up with a postcard, just a plaque of some sort. I didn’t really want to create a postcard because I had a huge urge to cover both sides with paper. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it exactly until Samantha mentioned that she was going to turn hers into a jewellery stand! I instantly fell in love with her idea but wasn’t too sure how I was going to do that. A few days after the even I decided to add pins, clothes pins, butterfly clips, and a stand onto it. TA DA! Out came this jewellery stand! :)

The rest of the night was so much fun because you seriously can’t go wrong with tables full endless of art supplies!! After that, I got to make giant buttons, eat a mango popsicle,  paint a tiny painting onto the collaborative raw canvas, and hangout with my awesome friend Stephanie! I can’t wait to go to more craft parties!

How to Make a Jewellery Stand

How to Make a Jewellery Stand

Materials:
– A piece of wood
– Lots of pretty paper
– Glue
– Scissors
– Pins, Butterfly clips, Clothespins, ribbon (for the jewellery)
– Cardboard (for the stand)

Steps:

1. Create the stand buy cutting and gluing the cardboard onto the back of the wood. (I did this later on but I think doing it first would be easiest!)

2. Decorate the stand – front and back – with pretty paper

3. Add Pins, Butterfly Clips, Clothespins and/or Ribbon in spots where you plan to hang the jewellery

4. Hang your favourite jewellery on it :)

14 comments on “How to Create a Jewellery Stand

  1. lizzierosejewellery
    September 11, 2012

    Great looking stand, it would even be appropriate as a display at a craft fair! Thanks for the ideas. Cath

    • Diana Luong
      September 11, 2012

      Yay! Glad you like it! :) Just took a look at your amazing stuff! so cute! Love that you have recipes too!

      • lizzierosejewellery
        September 11, 2012

        Thanks! Always nice to receive a compliment! And, I love food so the recipes are to showcase what I enjoy making for my family. :)

  2. lineanddot
    September 11, 2012

    How pretty and simple, I’ve been looking for a jewellery stand for ages! Sorry for being nosey but you have some lovely earrings too!

    • Diana Luong
      September 11, 2012

      aw Thanks! :) You should definitely make one too! And both those earrings are from forever21! Super worth it :D

  3. fayegreendesign
    September 11, 2012

    Your stand addition is brilliant – I love the creativity! I am so happy to have been of some inspiration, but you have taken to a great new level. Do you mind if I reblog your blog? I’ll finish my stand and do a stand-by-stand!

    • Diana Luong
      September 11, 2012

      Yay! Of course I don’t mind :) I’m excited to see how your stand turns out! Glad I got to meet you and thanks for inspiring me!

      • fayegreendesign
        September 13, 2012

        It was great to meet you too, and to be exposed your creative messes blog! The layout and content is really so much fun and easy to read. Great job!

  4. fayegreendesign
    September 12, 2012

    Reblogged this on fayegreendesign and commented:
    When creative minds come together, the possibilities are endless! Diana Luong and I met at the 3rd Annual Etsy Craft Party held at the BLIM gallery in Vancouver, where our vintage postcards somehow morphed into quirky jewellery stands. Here is Diana’s DIY blog on her stand transformation – stay tuned later this week for the completion of my Etsy creative endeavour…

  5. inkblotdesigns
    September 13, 2012

    I love your jewellery stand and it compliments your handmade jewellery perfectly!

    • Diana Luong
      September 13, 2012

      Aw thanks!! I just took a look at your site! lots of awesome design stuff :)

  6. Pingback: How To Make a Hanging Jewellery Display | fayegreendesign

  7. fayegreendesign
    September 16, 2012

    Here’s the jewellery display inspired by you (because I may have never gotten around to finishing it without your creative prompting!!). Thanks Diana! http://fayegreendesign.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/how-to-make-a-hanging-jewellery-display/

    • Diana Luong
      September 16, 2012

      Love it!!!! I can’t wait to start more projects with your new idea! :) And its funny cause my jewellery stand wouldn’t have been a jewellery stand without you! We both inspired each other, HEHE :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2012 by in Crafts, DIY and tagged , , , , , , .
