Creative Messes

Crafty Projects and the Messes that Come with Them

Personalized Jar for Steph

Jar FrontJar BackJar Side and BottomJar InsideWrapped PresentThis is a present I made for one of my friend’s birthday/graduation. Steph is an amazing individual who I have been very lucky to have learnt so much from! I met her when I was volunteering at open house in my early years of university. Since then I would say hi to her in the halls but never really got to know her. She happened to be one of Ken‘s closest friends so after some get togethers, an animation class, dodgeball and now HootSuite, she has become one of my closest friends too. It was very easy for me to get along with her because we share the same excited and positive personalities. She has become a role model to me in so many ways and I’m very happy to have gotten to know her!

I love making presents for people and I knew that Steph would really love a personalized gift. I was influenced by her business cards and her Dandelion Theory. Her theory is to spread her knowledge, skills and passion to those around her. I used the same paper that Me and Ed (Steph’s boyfriend) used to decorate her surprise birthday party with! The jar is decorated with modpodge and scrapbooking paper. The background is glued from the inside and the details such as her character, the dandelion quote and lanterns are all glued on the outside of the jar.

I actually woke up early one day and had an urge to make this jar. I began with a rough idea of what I wanted but the project really just shaped itself as I created it. Within half an hour I already had the background and her character created. Soon after, I kept adding to it until I was satisfied! From creating this I also came up with a new idea that I want to try which is to craft for about 15 – 30 minutes every morning and see if it makes me happier or more awake. I’ve been doing it so far and it really does seem to make me happier! We’ll see how the rest of my mornings go! :)

6 comments on “Personalized Jar for Steph

  1. Kennett Kwok (@kennettkwok)
    October 7, 2012

    Absolutely amazing. Making stuff like this is what touches people! You have the gift to do that :)

  2. Marti
    October 7, 2012

    I love that! I would love for you to post to SHOW-licious Sunday Craft Showcase! Just follow this link :) http://sewliciousdecor.wordpress.com.

  3. fayegreendesign
    October 12, 2012

    What a great wrapping job!!

  4. I love love love love LOVE my jar and my card! Thank you so much for personalizing them and putting so much love and effort. This means so much to me <3

  5. Elaiza
    May 2, 2013

    Aww so much love and talent combined into one jar!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2012 by in Crafts, DIY, Gift, Illustration, Uncategorized, Wrapping and tagged , , , , , , .
